My BFF the Celebrity Chef

Until this week I never participated in the phenomenon that is Man-Crush Monday.   (Well, to be honest, I didn’t really know it was a “thing” until I finally pulled my ‘donk out of the dark ages and got myself a smart phone, and subsequently, and instagram account.)

Today, though? It just seems appropriate.

Yall know of my deep affection for the one and only Juan Pablo, so that’s a given.

But we all know that, quite frankly, I only want him for his body.

(Besides, I normally prefer them darker, just like my coffee chocolate.)

Part of the reason Juan Pablo is so enchanting (besides his shirtless-tendencies and undying devotion to his daughter, Camilla) is that he has an accent.  Men with accents are to women what a 36 case of Budweiser is to a group of high school boys:

tempting, delicious, and possibly the cause of regrettable decisions.

Therefore, it’s no wonder that I am smitten by Australian chef Curtis Stone.

Curtis Stone made his debut on this year's list.

In all honesty, the highlights are a bit much for me.  But aside from that, there’s no denying that the man is beautiful, and throw in an Aussie accent and some rockstar chef skills, and you’ve got a recipe for melted hearts.  And to his credit, Curtis seems like one of the most genuinely nice guys you’d ever meet.  When a guy has that much going for him, you might expect him to be a douchesaurus….so it’s all the more exciting to find that he is the friendliest of fellows.

I know all this because I have spent an ungodly amount of time watching his reality show, Take Home Chef, with my father (who considers himself Curtis’ biggest fan).  It’s on Netflix, by the way…you know what you need to do.

What can I say? I’m only human (and I was unemployed for quite awhile).

At any rate, Curtis is fabulous and I obviously follow him on Twitter and instagram. Who doesn’t love photos of good looking men cooking good food? AmIright??? (Also, photos of his adorable son with his wife Lindsey Price. Halfsie children are the cutest.)  So about a month or so ago, I got it in my head that it would be a good idea to make pasta.   From scratch.  Without a pasta machine.  And even though I’m a decent cook (but a pretty terrible baker), the Pasta Adventure of 2013 ended up being quite the epic.  Naturally, this whole endeavor made me wish Curtis were in my kitchen to give me pointers, pour the wine, and just generally add some ambiance.

Upon completing my kitchen escapade and serving my family, I tweeted about my culinary success  in the manner only the biggest (and most carb-fueled) fangirl can.

And Curtis tweeted back.

tweets with curtis

Yeah, go ahead and be giddy.  I was.  I just became BFFs with my favorite celebrity chef.  Also, I got bragging rights for the next six months since clearly I’m Curtis’ favorite fan.  I’m still holding out hope that I can somehow get him to come surprise my dad for his birthday in January…

(Curtis, if you’re reading this, let’s have our “people” talk.  Or, you know, your “people” can call me.  I’m not cool enough to have “people” yet.)

Moral of the story?  Curtis is DEFINITELY worthy of being a #mancrushmonday stud.

And I just finished writing this post when I realized that it’s not Monday.  

It’s Tuesday.

Damn it.

(I promise I really did go to college.)

How about we just think of this as the “12 Days of Christmas” version of Man-Crush Monday? 

I’m just prolonging the holiday spirit…

‘Tis the season?

Leave a Reply

