Christmas Playlists Series: Traditional Songs, Standards, and Classics [and those close to it]

One of my favorite things about this time of year is that it’s socially acceptable to listen to Christmas music.   All those wonderful songs have memories tied up in them, and whether it’s the kind of song that gives you “the warm and fuzzies” (sidebar: Why is that even a saying? It sounds like some kind of euphemism for an STD.), or the kind that gives you goosebumps, there’s something inherent to Christmas music that makes life seem magical.

Of course, I may be biased, since my mother would play Christmas music from September all the way through February, so about half my childhood is set the the sound of Nat King Cole’s Christmas albums from the 90’s.  But I digress.

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be sharing a few playlists with some of the best Christmas songs from a variety of genres.  I’ve included videos for all the songs, but if you decide you want to put these on your own playlist, please do so legally.  It’s kind of like sex- if you’re going to enjoy it, you better commit to it.  Or in this case, buy it (the music, not sex).  You tracking? After all, it’s Christmas and Santa and Jesus and your Catholic grandmother and the NSA are all watching.

Let’s kick things off with some of the classics! Let me know what you think and if I missed any of your favorites!


Traditional[ish] Christmas Playlist 2013

“It Came Upon a Midnight Clear” –  Josh Groban

“What Child Is This?” – Josh Groban

“Believe” – Josh Groban

“All I Want For Christmas Is You” – Michael Buble

“God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” – Nat King Cole

“O Come All Ye Faithful”  – Nat King Cole

“Do You Hear What I Hear?” – Bing Crosby

“O Holy Night” – Bing Crosby

“Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!” – Bing Crosby

“O Little Town of Bethlehem” – Frank Sinatra

“Silent Night, Holy Night” – Frank Sinatra

“Child of God” – Bobby Darin

“Christmas 1915” – Celtic Thunder [this one won’t let me embed the video, but the link below will take you to it on YouTube – it’s definitely worth watching!]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8qXQx6gD47I&list=PL1E248AB9344177F3&index=7

“Happy XMas (War Is Over)” – Christina Perri [I know, I know, John Lennon originally performed this. I like this version better. The end.]

“Veni Veni Emmanuel” – Hayley Westenra

“Gloria In Excelsis Deo” – Andrea Boccelli

“What Child Is This” – Andrea Boccelli

“O Holy Night” – Susan Boyle

“Auld Lang Syne” – Celtic Women

“Carol of the Bells” – Mormon Tabernacle Choir

 

3 thoughts on “Christmas Playlists Series: Traditional Songs, Standards, and Classics [and those close to it]

Leave a Reply

