Christmas Playlist Series: Country Edition

I’m originally from Nashville, and even though we had moved “out West” by the time I was six, many of my most distinct memories are from back when we lived in the South: hunting salamanders in the creek, visiting family in Greensboro and Gretna, swinging on the merry-go-rounds (which I have never seen in California), going to dinner at Cracker Barrel, stopping at Jimmy Dean’s for bubblegum, seeing snow fall in the backyard.  It’s a whole other world back there, yall.   One of the things I’ve held onto from those sweet southern days is an ardent and unwavering love for country music.  It’s the sound of home, you know? And this time of year, it just doesn’t feel like Christmas without a bit of that backwoods, downhome, redneck twang.   [If you disagree, you are clearly one of those people Phil Robertson of Duck Dynasty fame would refer to as “yuppies.”  But since it’s Christmas and all, I’ll forgive you for your yuppified transgressions.]

So if you’re already a  cowboy at heart, you’ll appreciate this.  If not, you really ought to give it a chance.  There was no way to make a list that covers all the best of country Christmas songs, but I put together a handful of my favorites and tried to include songs from artists that span a variety of decades and styles…so there should be a little something for everyone!

This playlist [and all the others in the series] will be up on my Spotify account, so if you follow me [Dominique Talley] on Spotify you can grab the playlist there, as well! I’ll be adding to those playlists as time goes on, so there will be more songs than just the ones I’ve featured here.

I was able to find videos for nearly all of the songs, but these few eluded me.  They’re worth a listen if you look them up on Spotify!

  • “O Little Town of Bethlehem” – Kenny Chesney
  • “O Holy Night” – Eden’s Edge
  • “The Virgin’s Lullaby” – Josh Gracin
  • “Away in a Manger” – Trace Adkins

And here are the rest, many of which include janky videography and a lot of 1990’s denim.  You’re welcome…

“And The Angels Cried” – Alan Jackson and Alison Krauss

“Mary Did You Know?” – Reba McEntire

“What Child Is This?” – Vince Gill

“Jingle Bell Rock” – George Straight

“O Come, All Ye Faithful” – Faith Hill

“Joy to the World” – Faith Hill

“Silver Bells” – The Judds

“O Come, O Come, Emmanuel” – Sugarland

“Baby It’s Cold Outside” – Lady Antebellum

“Do You Hear What I Hear?” – Carrie Underwood

“Go Tell It On the Mountain” – Sara Evans

“I’ll Be Home for Christmas” – Sara Evans

“Winter Wonderland” – Brad Paisley

“Mary Did You Know?” – Scotty McCreery

“Christmas Comin’ Round Again” – Scotty McCreery

“The Christmas Song” – Lonestar

“Silent Night” – Lee Ann Womack

“I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day” – Johnny Cash

“Away In a Manger” – Martina McBride

“O Holy Night” – Martina McBride

“Blue Christmas” – Elvis Presley and Martina McBride

“Joy to the World” – Dolly Parton

Alright fellow rednecks, what do you think? Did I leave anything out?

One thought on “Christmas Playlist Series: Country Edition

Leave a Reply

