Git ‘Er Done

When I was in third grade, I had a major school project due, and I chose to finish it two weeks before it was due.  After presenting the finished project to my parents and reveling in their praise, I proudly stuck my chin in the air and declared,

“Time management is the key to success!”

Yeah, I was a real peach.

Moral of the story is that I’ve always been an annoyingly-neurotic person who compulsively works at being productive all the time.  In a lot of ways, it’s one of my worst downfalls. (I am a terrible at “enjoying the moment” and I constantly try to “fix” everything I can get my paws on.)   On the other hand, when it’s time to take care of business, this is a great asset for me.

It is so easy to let our time be frittered away on social media, in front of the TV, or working inefficiently, but feel “busy” all the while…Then at the end of the day we are left wondering, “Where did all my time go?”  Life on this side of eternity is too fleeting to let the hours and days and years go down the drain like this.

Lately, though, I’ve found myself struggling to stay productive.  Somewhere between switching jobs, transitioning from part-time to full-time, planning a big (for me) vacation, and trying to invest well in the friends and family with which I find myself blessed…well, I haven’t exactly been using my time management skills so much.  Just to give you an example, over the past month, I’ve watched more Gossip Girl  reruns on Netflix than any self-respecting adult woman should admit, and yet I find myself thinking that I just “don’t have time” to clean.  The reality is that I’ve been rationalizing my laziness with the chaos of life lately, and I’ve been using that as an excuse to spend my time on meaningless pursuits at the expense of that which I truly value.

I think time management, and in turn, productivity, really comes down to priorities.  How we spend our time reveals, in no uncertain terms, what we value.  THIS article from Nerd Fitness (fantastic site, by the way…tons of great resources for fitness, life, and general nerdy goodness) explains is so well and has great suggestions for how to reorganize your life so that you do have time to do all those things you say you want/need to do.   Choose to orient your time around your priorities, and your productivity will take care of itself.   

I don’t know about yall, but I’ve got so many things that I want to achieve while I’m on earth.  I’m not about to let myself steal any more time away from those accomplishments.  Maybe that nerdy little kid was right.

“Time management [really] is the key to success.”

And if, like me, you want a little extra kick in the ‘donk to get started on this time-management objective, check out this big beautiful infographic.  You’d better believe I’ve got it plastered up on my bedroom wall so that I have to stare down this bad boy each morning when I sit up in bed.  It’s actually been helpful over the past week to have this daily visual reminder (not to mention the 30+ practical suggestions), and I’ve found myself a wee bit more inspired to be productive with my time when I look at this before flipping over to Netflix.  So if you want to, you know, wallpaper your office with it, I wouldn’t necessarily say that’s a bad idea…

productive

[source]

One thought on “Git ‘Er Done

Leave a Reply

