DIY Protein Bars

I used to love Power Bars.  When I was 13, I thought there were few things better than an original chocolate Power Bar.  These days, I’m a slightly more discerning consumer.  Typically I avoid protein bars, because they’re expensive and filled with ingredients I’m not comfortable with.  This past weekend, my mom asked me to pick up some low-sugar protein bars for my dad, and after a quick look through the sad selection at Winco (guess who was not wearing yoga pants this time?), I decided to take matters into my own hands.

In other words, I threw a bunch of things into a bowl and hoped for the best.

Luckily for me my taste-testers, my DIY protein bars turned out pretty dang good.  I actually had no intention of sharing this (hence, the lack of photographic evidence) until everyone who tried them raved about how tasty they were.  I figured I’d share the “recipe” here in case anyone is looking for an alternative to store bought protein bars.  Honestly, all you have to do is stir, smoosh, and slice.  Have at it!

DIY Protein Bars

no bake, low sugar, high protein, high deliciousness
makes one 13×9 pan worth of protein bars

DIY Protein Bars

You’ll Need…

  • 1.5 C raw cashew pieces
  • 1.5 C raw sunflower seek kernels
  • 2 C unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 0.25 C chia seeds
  • 0.25 C coconut oil (melted)
  • 1 C natural peanut butter
  • 3 scoops quality chocolate protein powder (I used whey isolate…but any kind of protein would probably work. If you have vanilla protein, try adding a couple tablespoons of cocoa powder.)
  • dark chocolate chips or carob chips (optional)

Get to Mixin’…

  • Toss all the dry ingredients in a large bowl.
  • Stir in the melted coconut oil and peanut butter.
  • Use some elbow grease to really mix everything together really well (it should sort of for a flaky ball of protein “dough”).
  • Line a 13×9 pan with wax paper and smooth the mixture into the pan.
  • If you’re feeling wild – as I clearly was – sprinkle some chocolate chips (or in my case, carob chips) on top and press them into the dough.
  • Chill until solid and then slice into however many bars you prefer. (Store them in the fridge, too.)
  • Try not to eat them all at once.  Especially if your body doesn’t react well to whey, and eating these will make you bloat up like a dead fish.  They will be so delicious that it’s almost-but-not-quite worth the pain. Not that I would know anything about that.

Bam!  You’ve got yourself a homegrown protein bar that’s lightyears healthier than anything you’ll find in a storebought bar.  Even better, you can change things up to suit your tastebuds, nutritional needs, and creative whims. Give it a whirl and let me know how it goes!

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Protein Bars

Leave a Reply

