Oatmeal Cookie Dough Smoothie

There are two kinds of people in this world: those that like cookie dough and cake batter, and those that don’t.  I am strongly encamped in the former category.  I would much prefer to lick cake batter out of a mixing bowl, like the elegant broad that I’m known to be, that sit down to a piece of cake.  Therefore, if you someone who prefers the actual baked good itself, we probably should not be baking buddies…because when I inevitably get food poisoning from the raw eggs in the cake batter/brownie batter/cookie dough that I’ve continually sampled, I’ll need someone to hold my hair back while I’m hurling all day long, and you’ll still be mad that I kept dunking my spoon finger in the mixing bowl.  The fact that I think about these things is probably a sign that I should be committed, so let’s move on.

I realized around age 7 that full-on drinking cake batter would never be a good idea.  (This was also about the time I learned about salmonella.)  The dream never died, though, and this morning, I brought that dream to fruition.  Well, kind of.  I made a smoothie that tastes like oatmeal cookie dough.  It’s not cake batter, but it’s drinkable and it’s definitely a very good idea.  Plus, no raw eggs means no risk of salmonella.  So if you’re like me and looking into a bowl of cookie dough is pretty much a spiritual experience, you should probably make this right away.  Trust me, you’ll be glad you did.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Oatmeal Cookie Dough Smoothie

(Remember, I tend to work “intuitively” in the kitchen, so I did not actually measure anything while making this.  These are my estimations of the ratios I used, and you should adjust them to fit your preferences!)

Ingredients:

  • frozen banana/s  (Maybe 1 or 1.5? I cut up my bananas before I freeze them, so I’m just threw in a handful of frozen chunks and called it good.)
  • small handful raisins, soaked in equal amount of water for at least 1 hour
  • lots of cinnamon, or at least 1/2 tsp (I vote more.  Lots more.)
  • splash (1/2 tsp?) of vanilla extract
  • smaller splash (1/4 tsp?) of almond extract
  • spoonful (1-2 Tbs?) sunflower seed butter (I bet you could also use almond butter, etc., but I haven’t tried it with anything else.)
  • healthy sprinkle (3 Tbs?) of dry oatmeal
  • vanilla protein powder (I didn’t use this because I don’t have any, but I know it would be an excellent addition.)
  • Toppings: quick-cooking oatmeal (dry), chopped walnuts/almonds, chocolate chips (this should be obvious), chopped dates, etc.

Directions:

  • Blend everything up.  This should take only a few seconds if you have a high-speed blender like my beloved Ninja.  (Seriously, though, the Ninja has proven to be the best gift I’ve ever received.  If you are in the market for a new blender/food processor, I highly recommend it.)
  • Slam some toppings on that bad boy.
  • Drink it or dunk your finger/spoon/face in there. I don’t care. Go wild.

I just hope this empowers you to make your childhood dreams come true.  And if you didn’t dream about cookie dough as a child, then I don’t know what to say besides “I’m sorry,” or maybe “So what was it like growing up in Soviet Russia?”

5 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cookie Dough Smoothie

  1. Oh my gosh! Cake batter and cookie dough are my faaaavorites. I would take both raw/uncooked than the final product. And cookie dough and cake batter are my go to ice cream flavors every time. Never gets old!

    And that shake looks Delish! 😍

Leave a Reply

