Thirsty Thursday: Summer Drinks Edition

Around Christmas last year, I shared a post on how to DIY some favorite seasonal coffee drinks.  I’ve been getting even more creative with the beverages I’m mixing up this summer (on top of the usual copious iced coffee and iced tea), but it only recently hit me that I should share those so that everyone can raise a glass of summery goodness.  Like with all my smoothie “recipes,” these are really more of suggestions.  Add or omit ingredients and change up ratios to suit your preferences and make it work with what you’ve got on hand.  So if you’re thirsty, here are some tasty options to enjoy while you cool off!

“Mochanut” Frozen Coffee

mochanut frozen coffee

It’s like a drinkable Almond Joy candy bar, but without the risk of diabetes.  In other words, it’s everything you need in your life.

  • Starbucks VIA Iced Coffee packet (if you don’t have that, instant coffee powder + your sweetener of choice would work, too!)
  • cocoa powder (about 1 tbs will make it pretty chocolate-y)
  • crushed ice
  • almond milk
  • coconut milk (to taste…I used about 1/4 cup) or coconut extract (if you don’t have coconut milk)

Throw all that goodness in a high powered blender (I used my beloved Ninja with the personal cup attachment) and give it a spin.  Stick a straw in there, drink up, and pretend you’re on a tropical beach with a sexy bronzed cabana boy fanning you.

Jalapeno Iced Tea

jalapeno sweet iced tea (3)

This one sounds weird, I know, but I saw it on the menu at a local coffeehouse and gave it a shot.  To my amazement, it was actually really really good.  So good that I had to recreate it at home!  It’s not terribly spicy (although you can turn up the heat if you want!), and it’s not overly sweet…it just hits that sweet spot of being perfectly refreshing with a little “wake up” kick!

  • strong iced tea
  • jalapeno slices (fresh is ideal, just be sure to remove the seeds, but canned works if you drain it well)
  • sugar, stevia, or other sweetener (to taste)
  • lime juice (about 1 tsp per 16oz glass of tea)
  • lots of ice

Mix your tea with your sweetener of choice and the lime juice, then pop in a few jalapeno slices and stir things up.  Take a taste and be amazed.  Heads up, though – the jalapeno flavor will be stronger the longer it sits, so I like to make this ahead of time.  If you don’t want that much heat, wait until just before serving to add the jalapeno.

Coconut Iced Chai 

coconut iced chai

You could also make this a hot drink for the fall/winter (steam the milk and omit the ice), but something about the coconut + icy cold drink + summer heat makes it feel so right.

  • chai mix (powdered or liquid is fine, I usually use Tazo or Oregon brand)
  • coconut milk
  • almond milk (coconut milk can be really thick and a bit overpowering to drink straight, so I like to thin it out)
  • ice

Pour, shake, slurp.  Easy as that.  You could also blend this one to make it more of a milkshake-type deal.  That would definitely be a good idea.  Yes, do that.

 

Matcha Green Tea Iced “Latte”

coconut matcha green tea latte (3)

Matcha is incredibly good for you, as it’s chock full of polyphenols and antioxidants (long story short, those suckers keep you healthy and looking good).  Again, you could make this drink hot, but I prefer it cold.

  • matcha powder (you can find good deals online, like HERE)
  • sweetener to taste
  • almond milk, coconut milk, or a combo
  • vanilla extract
  • ice

Add everything to a jar/cup with a lid (I may or may not use my Blender Bottle for this…), shake it like you’re going for gold in the ShakeWeight Olympics, and get your drank on.

Mango Matcha Icee

matcha mango iceeSimilar to the “latte” above, but blended and fruity and more fun.

  • matcha powder
  • frozen mango chunks
  • sweetener to taste
  • almond milk, coconut milk, or a combo
  • ice (you won’t need a whole lot if you’re using plenty of frozen mango)

Grab your blender, get to blendin’, and then get to drinkin’.  This is seriously delicious, and I went through a phase where I made it 5 times in a week.  It was a wonderful season of my life.

 

There you have it…If  When you try these, be sure to share on instagram or twitter with the hashtag #summerslurpin…It will be like a virtual day-drinking (coffee and tea) party!

Cheers to summer! 

Discuss:

What’s your favorite summer drink?

Which is better – iced coffee or iced tea?

5 thoughts on “Thirsty Thursday: Summer Drinks Edition

    1. What?! Once you figure out the grounds:water ratio, it’s so easy…I’d definitely be broke if I didn’t make 90% of the coffee I drink, haha!

  1. YUS! I love this post, I remember when you did one similar about half a year ago – and I legit wrote them down in my phone haha. Thank you for sharing your secrets with us lovely. I am most excited about the coconut iced tea…!

Leave a Reply

