Bits and Pieces

Well, it’s Friday, and even though most folks may be coming off of a shorter-than-usual workweek (thank you, Labor Day!), I’d wager that we’re all still ready for the weekend.  Can I get an amen?

So on a day when we’re all hankering for some jack on the rocks, a good book, and a hammock – I know I’m not the only one – I figured I’d share some of the best links I’ve seen lately.  Some are health-related, some are life-related, some are just hilarious.  In short, I’m giving you some easy reading to enjoy while you drink your whiskey with your pants off.

You can thank me later.  (I’d say invite me over, but that would conflict with my introverted nature.  Plus, I’m working all weekend.  So, there’s that little issue.)

Fitness

How to Get the Bar Into Proper Position During Hip Thrusts  –> I love hip thrusts, but I don’t love getting pinned under the bar because I have quadzilla thighs and no bumper plates.  Bret Contreras solves that problem.

Squatting Specifics – Which Technique Is Best for Your Sport? –> Not every body should be squatting the same (and a few folks think some bodies shouldn’t be squatting, period), and this article helps you figure out how to make the most of your time under the bar.

9 Tips for Dedicated Lifters –> There’s a lot of good in here, even if you’re not in complete agreement with every item.  There’s also the fact that I love his no-bullsh*t style.  (Thanks to Tara for pointing me to this one!)

Nutrition

The Truth on Truvia –> Found this after googling Truvia when I came home in incredible pain (and a little bit preggo looking) after a couple hours at a cafe where I’d had iced tea with some Truvia mixed in.  Now I know why.

Is a Low-Carb Diet Ruining Your Health? –>  If you’ve ever cut back on carbs or “gone Paleo” (or thought about doing so), this would be worth a read to make sure that your nutrition choices are actually beneficial to your health.

Forget weight setpoint. What’s your sanity setpoint? –> Sanity + health > obsession + a 6-pack.

The Rising Epidemic of “Hidden” Eating Disorders –> I’ve had far too much experience with this – both personally and with loved ones – and it’s a crying shame that this kind of disordered thinking/eating/exercising is so rampant.

Life

Infographic Shows the Difference Between Diseases We Donate to and Diseases That Kill Us –> Thought-provoking.  Also, I heart infographics.

6 Types of People that Build Your Mental Toughness –> It’s not a matter of if you’ll encounter difficult and ornery folks, and not necessarily when either…like so many things, it’s about how you respond to them.

Two soldiers playing/singing a song they wrote –>  This was pretty impressive, and God knows my patriotic little soul could hardly handle the combination of country music, men in uniform, and ‘Murica.

Warped Childhood, Restoration Hardware-Style –>  So on point, and hilarious.  Reminded me slightly of The Hater’s Guide to the Williams Sonoma Catalogue, but with less sass.

Our Use of Little Words Can, Uh, Reveal Hidden Interests –> Fascinating little bit on words, psychology, and why your manner of speech can predict if that first date will turn into something more.

Here’s What Company Slogans Would Look Like If They Were Honest –> Check out the Honest Slogans website, too…my personal favorites are Hollister and Trader Joe’s.  Too accurate.

 

Well, folks, that’s all I’ve got.  Enjoy your whiskey-drinking/hammock-sitting/pantsless-hanging or whatever you’re doing this weekend!

Discuss:

Doing anything fun this weekend?

What’s the best thing you’ve seen/read online this week? Link up in the comments below!

 

 

Leave a Reply

