The Scoop on Skoop

Over the past month or so, I started hearing about this mysterious little supplement called “Skoop.”  Word on the street (and by street, I mean blogs that I read) was that it was a plant-based protein powder and basically some kind of wonderful.  This was exciting to hear, because for months I have been searching for a protein supplement that I could use (which means it had to be dairy-free and soy-free) and that was also good enough to recommend to my training clients (as well as readers!)…and Skoop seemed to fit the bill.  Thoroughly intrigued, I reached out to the company, and the generous folks at Skoop were so kind that they sent me a package with the full line of Skoop products!

Processed with VSCOcam with lv03 preset

Now, I’m someone who loves receiving packages and loves food and loves learning about nutrition, so opening up that box of Skoop goodies was a little bit like Hanukkah in September.  It’s been over a week and the fun has not stopped! Here’s the breakdown of the Skoop products all of which are plant-based and sweetened only with stevia.

Processed with VSCOcam with lv03 preset

  • A-Game is a superfood supplement that’s specially formulated to boost immunity, fight inflammation, and promote lasting energy throughout the day.   One little serving packs quite a punch, filled with greens (spirulina, chlorella, wheat grass, and more), vegetables, fiber, probiotics, antioxidants (quercetine, green tea, grape skin, and others), and more.  Antioxidant power is measured by Oxygen Radical Absorbance Capacity (ORAC), and a single serving of A-Game has as much ORAC as 10 servings of vegetables.  Quite impressive!
  • B-Lovely is a skin supplement that helps keep your skin looking great by supporting collagen production, providing healthy fatty acids (in the form of Alpha Linoleic Acid/ALA), and combating oxidative stress.  The antioxidant power in B-Lovely comes from the Japanese Fleece flower, which is one of the most concentrated sources of resveratrol (a powerful antioxidant compound) in the world…one serving as as much resveratrol as 8 glasses of wine!  I don’t know about yall, but I want all the help I can get when it comes to skin health (I already panic when I don’t get carded buying alcohol, so I’d like to keep any crows feet at bay for as long as possible!).
  • B-Strong is a protein powder made from brown rice protein and pea protein isolate, and it has a complete profile of amino acids.  Additionally, B-Strong has a nice dose of prebiotics (which help with digestion), antioxidants, omega fatty acids, vitamins, and minerals.  Each serving (2 scoops) has 16 grams of protein…while that may be slightly less than a typical whey-based protein, it’s still a great hit of protein that comes with all kinds of additional health benefits that traditional proteins lack – namely, those aforementioned antioxidants, prebiotics, omega fatty acids, and micronutrients – which makes it a clear winner for me.   Not only that, but it tastes delicious…and as someone who has tried quite a few protein powders over the years and believes in eating things you truly like, I take the taste-factor seriously!

I’ve had quite a bit of fun over the past week sampling all the Skoop products.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Iced Skoop Mocha: A-Game (chocofresh flavor), B-Strong, about 2/3 C each almond milk + iced coffee. It’s your morning drink done SO right.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Skoop smoothie: frozen banana, B-Strong, a blob of PB, spoonful of cocoa powder, almond milk, and spinach up the wazzoo. Blend up, then bottoms up.

skoop shaker cup postworkout shake

Postworkout Skoop: B-Strong + A-Game (sweetgreens flavor) + almond milk + some twerking in the kitchen to shake everything together. Really though, you have to twerk while you do it.

B-Strong is my favorite of the products and the one I have used most, as it is so easy to mix into a smoothie, stir into some oatmeal, or simply shake up with some almond milk (preferably in my cute little Skoop blender bottle).  B-Strong is vanilla flavored, so I find it goes well with almost any combo.  If I’m feeling hormonal like I want to spice things up, mixing a bit of cocoa powder into whatever I’m blending/stirring/shaking gives it a lovely chocolate taste.  I also really like shaking up a serving of B-Strong and a serving of A-Game together with some almond milk.  B-Lovely has a more unique taste (the flavor is Renewberry, and it’s lighter and more refreshing compared to the smoother/sweeter protein powder), and I enjoyed it mixed with some ice water, a squeeze of lime juice, and a splash of flavored sparkling water.

What’s just as excellent as the products is the Skoop company itself.  I was thrilled to discover that Skoop has a buy-one-give-one policy.  In keeping with their mission to make super nutrition available to everyone, they donate one serving of fresh fruits and vegetables to a school lunch program for every serving of Skoop that is sold.  As I’ve gotten older, it’s become more and more important to me to “vote with my wallet” as much as I can by making an effort to support companies that share my values…and Skoop has that wonderful combination of product+passion!

The bottom line?  After messing around with whey protein and soy protein supplements for so long – and messing up my health in some ways, as a result – I am happy to say I’ve found a protein that I love, and it loves me back.  I would recommend B-Strong to anyone who is dairy-intolerant, soy-intolerant, or just looking for a protein option that has a great micronutrient profile.  If you’re interested in nabbing some Skoop goodness for yourself, you can easily purchase all the products through their website.  I may soon begin distributing Skoop products, as well, so stay tuned for more news on that.  (Does a giveaway sound exciting?)

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with an easy recipe for a delicious protein porridge using my favorite new protein.  I’ve actually been bringing this to work for lunch, because it’s easy to cook, thrown in a tupperware, and tote with me.  And yes, this is kind of a total bro-meal.  It’s weird, and I just embrace it.  You should too.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Looks like dookie, tastes like happiness.

Peanut Butter Cup Protein Porridge (Alternatively, “Bro-Meal”)

  • Cook some oatmeal (I used steel cut oatmeal) with water or milk.  Use enough liquid so that it’s slightly watery after cooking/
  • Once it’s done, stir in some peanut butter (I used exactly 1 blob) and cocoa powder (I used precisely 2 shakes).
  • Pour that puppy into your bowl/tupperware, and mix in a scoop or two of Skoop.  The porridge will be much thicker after you stir that all in.
  • Add a little milk to make things creamy (I used a generous splash of vanilla almond milk) and chocolate chips if you dare (I had none, but I survived).
  • Try not to moan too loudly while you eat.

Discuss:

Do you use protein powder? Which one is your favorite?

Have you ever used a superfood supplement?

What’s your favorite way to use protein powder?

 

One thought on “The Scoop on Skoop

Leave a Reply

