Surprising News

Well, it’s been a minute, yall.

I’ve been on an unofficial hiatus for the past month or so, and for good reason.

Life got a little busy and a lot crazy lately.  Sure, there were some sick days involved and some unexpected detours, but on the whole I’ve spent the past month gearing up for some exciting changes.  If everything goes as it should, then by the end of summer I’ll be entering a whole new chapter in life…and I figure I may as well share the news.

Any guesses?

[Here’s a hint…it was a surprise for me, too!]

……

……….

…………….

……………………

…………………………

…………………………………….

………………………………………….

……………………………………………..

…………………………………………………..

Adele's pregnancy test

………………………………………………………….

…………………………………………………

………………………………………..

Yep.

It’s true.

………………………………

………………………..

………………….

I’ve still got my sense of humor.

Everything’s true except the implied pregnancy part. [Sidenote: If you’ve seen me in real life lately and actually believed I might be pregnant, you can go shove it.]  This past month has been crazy because I decided to get my master’s degree!  My last two years of undergrad, I swore up and down and even over my favorite pushup bra (may he rest in peace and/or the bowels of the Goodwill store) that I absolutely would not ever in a million years go to grad school.  I’d had e-n-o-u-g-h of the sitting in class and the writing the papers and the putting up with the culture of academia and the going into debt to pay for all of it.

But you know what happened?

I graduated.

And I worked some jobs that were alright and one job I loathed from the depths of my being.

I paid off a little of that debt.

And I paid a lot to fix my car.

[Damn German engineering.]

I felt stagnant and frustrated and scared out of my mind.

And I started a blog and stopped wearing leggings 24/7.

I made new friends and drank too much coffee.

And I went on bad dates and should have drank more whiskey.

I applied for some really great positions and got rejected.

And I was offered some really great positions and said “thank you, but no.”

I thought about who I am and what I do well  and what I want out of life.

And I realized that the whole life thing wasn’t exactly unfolding like I’d planned.

I woke up and found myself simultaneously grateful and wanting more.

[“But who cares? No big deal. I want mooooore…” Leave it to the Little Mermaid to put my feelings into words song and have a fish-ass that puts my human one to shame.]

And I decided to stop waiting and start chasing the life I want.

invictus quote

And the life I want requires a master’s degree…which, oddly enough, suddenly doesn’t seem like an unbearable undertaking.  I might even say it’s got me twitterpated because I know what those years of grad school are leading up to, the same way sitting through a wedding gets you twitterpated because you know what the wedding ceremony is leading up to. [I’m talking about the wedding cake, ya filthy animals.]  With that big decision came some other really well-thought-out decisions, like taking the GRE with 5 days notice and about 30 minutes [that’s a generous estimate] of studying [halfhearted at best], while I was sick with the flu [they really loved me for that].  There were a few frantic phone calls, a couple workouts skipped in favor of filling out applications, and all manner of general panic and anxiety.  Normally I’m a fairly neurotic, anxious, obsessive-compulsive person (I actually have OCD), but I mean a lot more than usual.

[I also took a Jungian personality test during one of these moments of panic and got INTJ.  Basically it means I’m Rain Man.  So I retook the test – twice. And got INTJ – twice.  So I’m Rain Man – really truly.]

On the down side, all that Rain Man-style panicking and preparing meant that I didn’t have much time to blog.  On the bright side, it meant I was able to submit my application to my top-priority program on time.  Being adult and having priorities makes you do weird things, no?

All in all, though, I’m absolutely thrilled with where I’m headed.  Nervous, yeah, that too.  But mostly thrilled.  The career path I’m pursuing will allow me to combine my passion for holistic wellness with my love for all things nerdy, all while assisting and empowering people as they improve their quality of life.  And I won’t hate the whole financial stability/work-life balance, either.

[Being the nomad-in-leggings-and-fake-Ugg-boots-who-lives-from-one-tank-of-gas-to-the-next lost its charm back in 2012.  Plus, I have no idea how the hell to get – let alone use – food stamps, so my best option is to just get a better job.]

That is my long-winded and oversharing-filled lead up to letting you know that I now have a little more time, and I’m fixing to get back to blogging. I may not be blogging every day of the week, but on the 2 or 3 days a week that I do post, it will be the same good old stuff as before – fitness, nutrition, and mental health…but better. [You’ll see what I mean.]

If you have suggestions, let me have ’em.

And yes, I’ve already been told multiple times that I should blog about the latest season of The Bachelor.  After all, those are my roots, and in many ways, my sweet spot.*  So that’s going to have it’s own page on the blog for those of you who like to partake in social commentary or just spectate on the sordid spectacle that is reality TV.

If you’re still reading this, bless your heart. Thanks for sticking around.  I’ll catch yall on Thursday with something of actual substance to read.

Ciao!

farmer chris bachelor

*Let’s be real, it doesn’t take much cajoling to get me to agree to study Farmer Chris for a few hours.  Oh my stars, that is a good looking farm-owner.  I would pull a Ruth and glean his fields all the live-long day, even during those doggone Indian summers in Iowa.  Heck, I’d throw in some foot-uncovering action – we’re all adults, right?  [And in case you are wondering, yes, the best part of attending a Bible college was getting to make jokes like this and have people A) get them, and B) laugh.  Well, maybe not the best part…but it was at least tied with watching the homeschoolers try to flirt with each other.  You never saw so many turtleneck sweaters or so little eye contact.]

 

PS: I found my spirit animal – Fat Schmidt.

fat schmidt spirit animal

It’s uncanny.

5 thoughts on “Surprising News

  1. oh wow!! I’m so excited for you…I absolutely love the story of it all, and I know you’ll succeed in whatever you do. You are funny and smart and just have what it takes. Big Alohas and I’ll look forward to all of your posts! XO

  2. Hooray! Exciting new steps for you 🙂 PS – The Bachelor is my current obsession. I look forward to Monday nights (well, technically Tuesday afternoon when I watch on Hulu!) My favorite girl is Whitney!

Leave a Reply

