The Secret Behind Gluten-Free Success [VLOG]

Got a vlog coming at yall today.  Topic du juor? Gluten free diets.

Now, I used to be the person who scoffed at gluten free diets as merely a trend.  Then I tried eliminating gluten from my diet to help with some health issues [extreme pain and bloating after eating, nagging fatigue, chronic stomachaches, etc.].

Well wouldn’t you know, I felt 100x better.  Was able to eat meals without looking like I was 6 months pregnant, which was a nice change of pace.  And for that reason, I’m pretty happy to keep gluten out of my diet for now.

But I’m still a skeptic, and the research is anything but conclusive, so I’m far from convinced that a gluten-free diet is a permanent solution [at least in my case]. Here’s why:

If you’re interested in reading more, I’d suggest the following articles and the studies they reference.  [Always look at the studies. That’s where the results are, everything else is somebody’s interpretation.  “Somebody” may be correct, but they very well may be completely wrong.  So always look at the studies.]

Is Gluten Sensitivity Real? {Chris Kresser}

A Balanced Look at Gluten Sensitivity {Science-Based Medicine}

Gluten Sensitivity That Isn’t Celiac {Medical Daily}

Gluten Intolerance May Not Exist {Forbes}

If you’re interested in gut health and good digestion, you might also like this post: Resistant Starch – The New Superfood?

4 thoughts on “The Secret Behind Gluten-Free Success [VLOG]

  1. Firstly, oooooh kill ’em. Way to get rolling on this updated blog. Proud of you homegirl.
    Secondly, this is the first Vlog I’ve literally (yes I mean literally, not figuratively) ever watched. So well done getting me hooked and holding my microscopic attention span for a full ten minutes.

    Lastly, I feel like I could chat with you forever on this subject — so I’ll just save it for the next time I visit home so we can actually talk in person instead of via blog comments — but I feel like even my deeply-rooted skepticism has an asterisk on it now. I’m still waiting for some scientist to realize that there’s something else in people’s digestive health/general well-being that’s causing the greater problem (loved that Forbes article you linked) and that gluten is merely the trigger for the distress symptoms that people experience as NCGS, but until then, I may be less judgmental now when somebody tells me they’re going gluten-free. “May” being the operative word… 😉

    1. Thank you! I’m honored that mine was your first fully-watched vlog. We definitely need to chat about this when you’re home [but I’m moving so maybe I’ll just come visit because that’s closer and because SLO]. It’s all SO fascinating, but also maddening because – like so much of nutrition science – there are thousands of confounding factors that make it hard to pinpoint anything. That’s where n=1 experiments come in handy, because when it comes to individuals, what matters most is figuring out what relieves symptoms/improves health and finding ways to make that protocol sustainable.

      I still can’t really believe it when I tell people “Oh, no thanks, I’m not eating gluten,” so judge away my friend. Even I’m judging myself haha.

  2. I’ve been considering cutting gluten out of my diet during the month of June. I don’t eat a ton of gluten (mostly in my oats and the occasional low-carb wrap); however, I still wondered how it’d affect my body if I cut it out for a period of time.

    1. It’s worth trying if you have any issues that can be connected to gluten sensitivity (digestion, skin, etc.). It’s surprising how much has gluten in it though, so if you do it, definitely give yourself a bit of prep time to stock up beforehand. And let me know how it goes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

