Skipping Workouts [VLOG]

If you had told me three years ago how many workouts I would skip these days, or the various reasons for which I’d be willing to call off or cut short a workout, I wouldn’t have believed you.

Workouts were things to be done, whether you wanted to do them or not.  Sick? Insanely busy? Family obgligations? Sleep deprived? Extra hours at work? None of that mattered more than a workout.

Looking back, I’d skip a lot more workouts and do a lot more living outside the gym.  And given what I know now, I think I would have been much happier and healthier that way.

On the other hand, I have plenty of days where working out isn’t something that gets me completely twitterpated.  Sometimes it’s because I’m busy and feel like I have a million and one other things to get done, other times it’s because I’m exhausted after a few nights of less-than-ideal sleep, and sometimes it’s because whatever workout I’ve got planned just does not sound like something I want to do (i.e. marshmallow theory has gone out the window).

So how do you know when to sit it out or suck it up?  
At the end of the day, it might be a judgment call only you can make.  But for the most part, there are some general guidelines you can use to figure out when you’d be better served by skipping a workout or two.

****

How do you decide when to sit out or suck it up?

Leave a Reply

