What It’s REALLY Like To Work In A Gym [VLOG]

I’m not sure how many of yall have worked in a gym before, but it’s definitely a different kind of atmosphere.  

I love it.  

There is nothing like being able to “talk shop” with your coworkers about things that actually interest you, rather than trying to find ways to stretch pitiful office gossip into enough conversation to last a full 8-hour shift.

And on top of that, it’s physically freeing.  Instead of being trapped at a desk or behind a counter all day, I get paid to run around in a huge gym all day long.  It’s like recess in elementary school, except it lasts all day long.

But as with any job, there are parts of it that I don’t love.  For instance, the mainstream fitness industry can very easily promote disordered diet and exercise practices, as well as general obsession with body image.  The “fitspiration” vibe can be strong, you know?

Last week I got started on the topic of the fitness industry with a vlog about how a personal trainer’s body plays into his credibility, and this week, I’m continuing with another vlog.  This is actually a topic I’m planning to cover more over the coming months, so for now I’m taking a bit of a broader view.

As always, I’d love to hear your input on the subject.  Please feel free chime in below!

Tell me…

What sort of messages do the trainers you know promote regarding body image?

Regardless of profession, do you have any gray areas where your personal life and work overlap?  

If you’re a trainer or have ever worked at a gym, how has your experience been with training (clients) and training (yourself) at the same facility?

2 thoughts on “What It’s REALLY Like To Work In A Gym [VLOG]

  1. I worked in a gym for about six months but it wasn’t for me. It partially had to do with the hours I was working (430AM-930AM) and it also had to do with the male trainers. The majority of men I worked with were your typical ‘meathead’ guys. I couldn’t stand the way they objectified their female clients (or other gym members.) I think you can get into a good gym where this doesn’t happen but it just wasn’t for me! 🙂

    1. Oh man, 0430-0930 would be ROUGH. And yes, I know exactly the type of trainer you’re talking about…I’ve worked with guys like that before, but (thankfully!) at this gym, there aren’t any major douchenozzles.

Leave a Reply

