Lessons From 25

Today is the last day of the first quarter century of my life.

 

That’s a fancy way of saying that tomorrow is my 25th birthday.  In the spirit of my burgeoning maturity, I am not freaking the hell out over it – instead, I’m reflecting on the past 25 years. 

What has gone well…

Where I can improve…

How far God has brought me…

How richly I have been blessed…

What I want to make out of the next 25 years…

Who I am, and who I want to be…

And what kind of wrinkle cream I should be using…

Turns out, in 25 years, you can screw up a hell of a lot. I mean, you can really jack things up.  But by the grace of God, you can learn a lot from those mistakes.  The older I get, the better I get at learning from those mistakes.

The older I get, the better I get at sharing those lessons.  Or maybe I’ve always been good at sharing lessons.  As the oldest of four, it comes with the territory.

Either way, here you go.  Any questions, and you can find me knee deep in chocolate cake and bourbon until Wednesday morning.

birthday cake

LESSONS FROM 25
  1. Appreciate top shelf whiskey, but never turn your nose up at good old Jack.
  2. Know how and when to say “F*ck.” Used well, it can be powerful.  Used wrong, it can make you sound powerful stupid.
  3. A guy you meet in a bar will treat you like the kind of girl he picked up in a bar.
  4. Master the basics before you start getting fancy. It goes for everything, be it weightlifting or running or cooking or kissing.
  5. Take control of where you spend your time, and you’ll take control of your life.
  6. Go to bed earlier than you think you need to. (You can thank me in the morning.)
  7. Hair is just hair. Go ahead and cut it/dye it/change it up.  You can always grow it out/dye it back.
  8. Being fat is not the end of the world.
  9. Being skinny will not automatically make you happy.
  10. Being strong is something you will never regret.
  11. Wear gym shorts that actually cover the full surface area of your asscheeks. No one looks sexy pulling their shorts out of their ass mid-workout.
  12. Netflix and productivity are arch enemies – choose sides wisely.
  13. Struggle and suffering are happen to everyone. Some people choose to let themselves be broken, other use them to make themselves better.  It’s a choice, and you get to make it.
  14. Make time to read something of substance for at least 10 minutes a day.
  15. Sing often, and loudly, and not just in the shower.
  16. It is good to slow down once in awhile. “He maketh me to lie down in green pastures; He leadeth me beside the still waters.  He restoreth my soul.”   – Psalm 23:2-3, KJV
  17. Stop wearing flip flops and invest in quality shoes.
  18. If you can’t afford a great sports bra, wear two decent ones at once. Snug as a bug.
  19. Think like a victim, and you’ll make yourself a victim.
  20. You can accomplish more than you think you can accomplish.
  21. Knowing how to break down a scientific study will save you from a lot of broscience and bullshit.
  22. Recognize and celebrate your own accomplishments and those of the people around you.
  23. Good manners will take you farther than charm.
  24. Aim to always be a beginner in something in your life – it means you’re constantly challenging yourself to learn something new.
  25. Stand for something, and fight for it with all you’ve got.

And if you have any recommendations for wrinkle cream…I’m all ears.

sparklers

Tell me…

What are a couple of the best one-sentence lessons you’ve learned so far?

Favorite birthday memory?

Leave a Reply

